All Powerful

Something magical happened to me yesterday.

I had what could have been classified as a bad day. My daughter was grumpy, I had cramps, and I found out that Borders was closing. From my ex-husband, no less.

Borders has a special place in my heart. For one, it’s currently the closest book store to where I live, and so I’ve spent countless hours there perusing, reading, sipping Seattle’s Best coffee…

Book stores have always been a great escape for me–a place to go when I’m bored or feeling low or looking for inspiration. Borders was like home.

It was a given for me to have my first stop there as a novelist on tour, and we had an extremely successful signing–we sold out! The manager even came out from the back to congratulate me!

I took this success and ran with it, scheduling another signing in Vacaville at the Borders near where I grew up. I was in talks with Monterey and Davis Borders also, and now I know why everyone was hesitant to confirm dates.

So yesterday I was a bit disappointed. My mind even began to spin a sad story about how people aren’t reading/buying books anymore, and what did this say about society and where we were headed? I felt sorry for myself as a new author, whose book signing tour may be cut short through the advent of electronic books (even though my novel is available on Kindle, Nook, Kobo, etc. of course). Would I ever get used to my Sony reader? After all, I was probably the last person out there to get a cell phone, and now I can’t imagine life without my Droid.

So feeling blue, I decided to just go to bed. When my boyfriend came to say goodnight, we started discussing which direction to take my novel’s sequel, “All Over It”. That morning, I had been asked by a mid-sized traditional publisher, “Sparkling Books,” to read the manuscript. Pretty amazing THEY came to ME. I didn’t think anything of it, though, until I heard my bf say the word “Sparkling” out loud.

Then I started to cry.

About a year ago a dear friend gave me a book called, “The Power”–Author Rhonda Byrne’s sequel to “The Secret”. If you know me, you know that I’m a big believer in the Law of Attraction, and when I can get out of my own way I have been able to manifest some pretty awesome things!

There’s a chapter in “The Power” called “Your Secret Symbol” :
“You can play with the law of attraction by asking to see physical evidence of the force of love. Think of something you love, and make it your symbol of the force of love. Whenever you see your symbol or hear it, you will know that the force of love is with you. I use illuminating, SPARKLING light as my symbol, so if the sun hits my eyes, or its light reflects off something into my eyes, or if I see anything that reflects light and SPARKLES, I know it is the force of love and it is with me.”

Not being very original, I decided that from that point forward, the word SPARKLE, which is a word you don’t often see in everyday life, would be my symbol that I’m on the right track.

So once again, I’ve been spinning my wheels working like a busy bee trying to get a publisher for my sequel, trying to find someone to turn my first novel into a screenplay and hopefully into a movie eventually, when if I could just practice what I preach, to ask the universe for what I want, to FEEL and BELIEVE that it is already so, then I will RECEIVE the answer.

Even if Sparkling Books doesn’t offer me a contract, I know I’m on the right path. As for Borders, I feel nothing but gratitude for the part they’ve played in my writer’s/reader’s life, and trust that everything is as it should be.

About michellelynpaisley

Michelle Paisley is the author of “Yoga for a Broken Heart: A Spiritual Guide for Healing from Break-up, Loss, Death or Divorce” (Findhorn Press, 2007) and "All In Her Head," a fiction novel about one overweight, middle-aged woman's spiritual journey to still the chatter in her brain and find peace, love and creative fulfillment (Strategic Books, April 2011). She has a Bachelor’s degree in English from California State University, Sacramento. A former Bay Area journalist, she now owns “Flow Massage and Yoga Therapy” in Sacramento, California, where she lives with her family. She is a featured collaborator/speaker in the international film and television project, “The Difference.” For more information on her media appearances, lectures and workshops, please visit www.michellepaisley.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment